map of florida
Florida - Map of Florida

Find region by Capital:

Football Teams of Florida

Florida Gators football

The Florida Gators football team represents the University of Florida in the Southeastern Conference's Eastern division. They play their home games on Florida Field in Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (also known as "The Swamp") in Gainesville, Florida. In 100 years of play, Florida has been recognized as SEC champions eight times (finishing first in the conference an additional three times), were national champions of the 1996, 2006 and 2008 college football seasons, and went undefeated in the 1995 regular season, surviving a tough SEC schedule and vaunted rival, Florida State University. The University of Florida is the winningest college football team in the nation since 1990

South Florida Bulls football

The South Florida Bulls are a Division I FBS college football program that plays its home games in Tampa, Florida. The team began playing in 1997, holding its first team meeting under a shade tree as the school had no proper football facilities on campus. Jim Leavitt is the only head coach in the program's history. After competing their first four years as a Division I-AA (now Division I FCS) independent, the Bulls moved to Division I-A, now Division I FBS, in 2001 but remained independent. They joined Conference USA in 2003 until becoming a member of the Big East in 2005.

The Bulls' starting quarterback for the 2007 South Florida Bulls football team was sophomore Matt Grothe, who was awarded the Big East Rookie of the Year award in 2006 after being the most productive freshman in total offense with 258.5 yards per game. South Florida is also home to sophomore defensive end George Selvie, who was named the school's first Consensus All-American in 2007.

Florida Atlantic Owls football

The 2007 Florida Atlantic University Owls football team represented Florida Atlantic University in the 2007 college football season. The team was coached by Howard Schnellenberger and played their home games at Lockhart Stadium in Ft. Lauderdale, FL. The Owls entered their second season as full members of the Sun Belt Conference. The Owls claimed their first-ever conference championship, defeating Troy in the last game of the season. To follow-up, the Owls won their first-ever bowl game, winning the 2007 New Orleans Bowl Championship, defeating the Memphis Tigers. This feat made NCAA history, as Florida Atlantic became the fastest start-up program to win a bowl game, after just seven seasons of intercollegiate competition.

UCF Knights football

The University of Central Florida Knights are a NCAA Division I FBS college football program. The team began playing in 1979 as a Division III program and completed their ascension to Division I-A, now Division I FBS, in 1996. The Knights are a member of Conference USA and their current head coach is George O'Leary, who formerly led the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets football team.

Florida State Seminoles football

The 1999 Florida State Seminoles football team was the national champion of the 1999 college football season. The team finished with a perfect 12-0 record, and was the first in NCAA history to go "wire-to-wire," being ranked continuously as the nation's #1 team from the preseason through the bowl season.